ENPHO Organized its 26th Annual General Meeting


ENPHO organized its 26th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 16 September, 2017 at ENPHO Hall, New Baneshwor. The key agendas of the assembly were the sharing and approval of annual progress report and financial report of the fiscal year 2016/17, announcement of winners of Bigyan Memorial Research Award, Raju Memorial Youth Award, Bhairab Risal Media Fellowship, and announcement of the best employee of the year (ENPHO Tara 2017).


The assembly was conducted under the chairmanship of Ms. Urmila Joshi, the then Chairperson of ENPHO. Senior Environmentalist Mr. Bhairab Risal was the Chief Guest and former Secretary of Ministry of Water Supply and Sanitation Er. Bhim Prasad Upadhyaya, and ENPHO Patron Dr. Roshan Raj Shrestha were the Special Guests during the event. Similarly, Mr. Bhushan Tuladhar, Mr. Rajiv Joshi, Mr. Pratap Kumar Acharya, Dr. Mingma Gyalzen Sherpa, Mr. Prakash Chandra Amatya, Dr. Laxman Joshi, Mr. Bipin Dangol and Mr. Rabin Bastola were present at the dais during the event.


The formal inauguration of the program took place by adding faecal sludge compost and watering the plant by the chief guest. Dr. Mingma Gyalzen Sherpa, the then Member Secretary of ENPHO welcomed all the participants, highlighted the importance of AGM and requested all the participants to provide critical feedback for further improvements in coming days.


The Special Guest during the program, Er. Bhim Prasad Upadhyaya, congratulated ENPHO for 26 years of service in the sector of water, sanitation and hygiene. He further appreciated ENPHO’s contribution in the sector and gave his best wishes for further continuation of remarkable works. During the assembly, ENPHO felicitated Er. Bhim Prasad Upadhyaya for his notable contribution in the sector of urban sanitation particularly in faecal sludge management. Dr. Roshan Raj Shrestha, during his special remarks emphasized to further expand the network at national and international level with innovative solutions. Likewise, Mr. Bhairab Risal appreciated the contributions of youth as a change maker. He also contributed NRs. 12,000 to ENPHO in memory of Late Huta Ram Vaidya to support the Bagmati campaign.


Mr. Bipin Dangol, Executive Director of ENPHO presented the annual progress report of the fiscal year 2016/17. Mr. Dangol highlighted the project activities, major achievements and progresses made during the year. Mr. Pratap Kumar Acharya, the then Treasurer of ENPHO presented the financial audit report of the fiscal year 2016/17.


From this year, ENPHO also announced a media fellowship and awarded a journalist with “Bhairab Risal Media Fellowship”, established in honor of Senior Environmentalist Mr. Bhairab Risal. The first fellowship has been awarded to Mr. Gopi Krishna Dhungana, Senior Reporter of Annapurna Post. He will be utilizing the fellowship for the publication of news report on “Environmental impact in Kathmandu valley before and after 20 years”. Similarly, this year’s “Bigyan Memorial Research Award” has been awarded to Ms. Anu Radha Baral, who is studying in Tribhuvan University. She will be conducting research on “Study on utilization of pine needles for the production of fuel”. “Raju Memorial Youth Award” has been awarded to Mr. Parmeshwor Jha, Founder of Sabal Nepal for his notable contribution on WASH sector in Saptari where coverage of Sanitation elevated from 20% to 80% in 3 years and also for the continuation and effective WASH improvement during Terai Flood 2017 in Saptari. Mr. Bhushan Tuladhar made the announcement of all the winners of awards and fellowship.


Like every year, ENPHO Tara- best employee of the year was also announced during the AGM. “ENPHO Tara 2017”, the best employee of the year was awarded to Mr. Niranjan Pradhan, Admin and Finance Director of ENPHO. First Runner Up and Second Runner Up awards were presented to Mr. Ash Kumar Khaitu, Training Centre Manager and Mr. Dharma Prajapati, Logistic Officer respectively.


Furthermore, on behalf of EcoConcern Pvt. Ltd., Dr. Laxman Joshi provided a cheque of NRs. Five Lakh to support ENPHO’s work on research activities. A street drama was also performed by Paschim Paaila volunteers on cholera prevention.


With the end of tenure of the board members 2014-2017, 26th AGM decided and provided ENPHO a new executive board members with Mr. Bhushan Tualdhar as Chairperson; Mr. Rajiv Joshi, Vice- Chairperson; Mr. Prakash Chandra Amatya, Treasurer; Ms. Anjali Manandhar Sherpa, Member Secretary; Ms. Urmila Joshi, Executive Member; Dr. Chandra Lekha Tuladhar, Executive Member; Mr. Pratap Kumar Acharya, Executive Member; Ms. Rosha Raut, Executive Member and Mr. Bipin Dangol, Executive Member. All the former executive board members 2014-2017 were presented a token of appreciation as a special gratitude for their successful tenure and service in the position.